Dayton Literary Prize: 2018 Winners & Runner-Ups

Recognizing the power of literature to promote peace and reconciliation, The Dayton Literary Foundation has announced the winners and runner-ups for the 2018 Dayton Literary Peace Prize in fiction and nonfiction. Inspired by the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia, The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the only international literary peace prize awarded in the United States. The award celebrates the power of literature to promote peace, justice, and global understanding. The winners will be honored at a gala ceremony (sold out) in Dayton, Ohio on October 28.

The winners and runners-up for the 2018 Dayton Literary Peace Prize:

Fiction Winner: Hala Alyan for Salt Houses
Fiction Runner-up: Min Jin Lee for Pachinko
Nonfiction Winner: Ta-Nehisi Coates for We Were Eight Years in Power
Nonfiction Runner-up: Michelle Kuo for Reading with Patrick.

Writer John Irving, winner of the 2018 The Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award completes the Dayton Peace Prize 2018 winners. Congratulations to all.