Literary Awards in the Buckeye State

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards. The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognize books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures.

Buckeye Children’s and Teen Book Award. The Buckeye Children’s and Teen Book Award program is designed to encourage students in Ohio to read literature critically, to promote teacher and librarian involvement in young adult literature programs, and to commend authors of such literature.  The Buckeyes are one of the only state reader’s choice awards in which students (Grades K-12) get to nominate the titles as well as vote on the final winners.

Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Inaugurated in 2006, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the first and only annual U.S. literary award recognizing the power of the written word to promote peace. The Dayton Literary Peace Prize invites nominations in adult fiction and nonfiction books published within the past year that have led readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. Both awards carry a $10,000 cash prize.

James Cook Book Award. Barking Dog Books and Art has been in business since 2002. Our online store carries only a fraction of our inventory of over 10,000 books. Catalogs include mystery, science fiction, military and world history, art, poetry, children’s classics, science, math, and local/regional history. They also specialize in unusual, uncommon, and out-of-print books as well as fine art prints.

Norman A. Sugarman Award for Children’s Biography. The Sugarman Award is given biennially by the Cleveland Public Library to honor excellence in the field of biography for children. Endowed by the Joan G. Sugarman family, the Norman A. Sugarman Children’s Biography Award was established in 1998 to honor excellence in the field of biography for children. The Award is jury selected and given biennially by Cleveland Public Library to a writer/illustrator of a new biography for children in grades Kindergarten-8, published in the previous two calendar years.